

6737 W. Washington St., Suite 2360, West Allis, WI 53214

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Dec. 17, 2024

FOR INFORMATION CONTACT: Laura Schreiner 414-755-4110 or <a href="mailto:lschreiner@wda.org">lschreiner@wda.org</a>

## DR. NED MURPHY RECEIVES WISCONSIN DENTAL ASSOCIATION'S 2024 LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

Longtime Racine County dentist honored for contributions to organized dentistry and public oral health

**WEST ALLIS, Wis. – Dr. Ned Murphy** of Mount Pleasant, a retired general dentist who formerly served as president of the Racine County Dental Association and the Wisconsin Dental Association, is the is the recipient of the 2024 WDA Lifetime Achievement Award. The award recognizes Dr. Murphy's leadership and long history of service to the dental profession, his patients and the Racine community.

Dr. Murphy, who started practicing in Racine in 1965 and started Spring Dental Group with Dr. Ron Lamberton in 1967, has been a dedicated volunteer and dental leader who even after retirement continues to focus on the future of dentistry and his desire to make a difference. He currently serves on the WDA Legislative Advisory Committee and regularly meets with lawmakers on oral health issues.

In addition to treating patients at Spring Dental Group for 40-plus years, Dr. Murphy has been a volunteer provider with WDA's Donated Dental Services, Give Kids a Smile and the WDA and WDA Foundation Mission of Mercy. Closer to home, he has volunteered with Racine's Health Care Network free dental clinic, served as member and officer of the All Saints Healthcare dental staff and as member of the Gateway Technical College Dental Hygiene Advisory Committee. He has also given his time to local political campaigns, served as a volunteer leader with Racine United Way, Racine Catholic Social Services and his church council; and is a past recipient of the Racine Jaycees SPOKE of the Year award. A former Racine County Dental Society president, he served as WDA president from 2016-2017.

"If you wanted to pick a perfect recipient of the Wisconsin Dental Association's Lifetime Achievement Award, that person would be Dr. Ned Murphy," said former WDA President **Dr. James Conrardy** (Green Bay), who nominated Dr. Murphy for the honor. "Ned is a true humanitarian who has always been there as a leader or volunteer for our profession and for his community for many decades."

Dr. Murphy was one of nine Dental Excellence Award honorees at the WDA's President's Gala, held last month in Eau Claire.

**Dr. Tim Durtsche** (La Crosse) received the WDA Foundation Philanthropic Award for his contributions to the WDA Foundation, which span more than 20 years. Dr. Durtsche is a volunteer for the WDA's Donated Dental Services program and was instrumental in bringing Mission of Mercy to Wisconsin in 2009.

- **Dr. Jeremy Hoffman** (Weston) received the Communications Award for his commitment to sharing the WDA's message through news media. Dr. Hoffman's interviews on oral health trends, preparing for a child's first dental exam and the dental bills signed into law by Gov. Evers have helped increase public awareness about the importance of oral health.
- **Dr. Tammy Boudry** (Fond du Lac) received the Community Outreach Award in recognition of her commitment to providing care for individuals with special needs. Dr. Boudry and her team routnely host free dental days for Special Olympics athletes at Boudry Dental in Fond du Lac. Services include cleanings, extractions, crowns, fillings and more.

**Rickey Shneyder**, owner of Crux Commercial Partners in Mequon, received the Friend of Dentistry Award for his contributions to the mission of the Wisconsin Dental Association by helping dentists in all career stages secure financing for acquisitions, construction, start-ups and more.

- **Dr. Ryan Dodge** (Hartford) received the New Dentist Leadership Award in recognition of his dedication to organized dentistry at the local, state and national levels. A staunch advocate for the dental profession, Dr. Dodge uses his platform and voice as WDA Editor to extol the benefits of organized dentistry as he leads content strategy for the WDA Journal and oversees the Editorial Advisory Board.
- **Dr. Lisa Teel** (Brookfield) received the Outstanding Leadership in Mentoring Award in recognition of her dedication to fostering beneficial relationships with dental students through the Marquette University School of Dentistry Pierre Fauchard Academy Wisconsin Dental Association Mentor Program.
- **Dr. Tamim Sifri** (Madison) was honored with the Political Action Award for his commitment to creating strong relationships with legislators and supporting the nonpartisan "Tooth Party." Dr. Sifri has been successful in educating legislators on oral health issues and advocating for the WDA's legislative priorities leading up to the robust dental package signed into law by Gov. Evers in early 2024.

**Julie Ye**, a fourth-year dental student at Marquette University School of Dentistry, received the WDA Award of Honor in recognition of her contributions to the Wisconsin Dental Association. An active member of the WDA Communications Committee and Editorial Advisory Board, Julie has been instrumental in helping the WDA connect with dental students.

\*\*\*

## **About the Wisconsin Dental Association**

The Wisconsin Dental Association, with 3,100 members across the Badger State, is the leading voice for dentistry in Wisconsin. WDA member dentists are committed to promoting professional excellence and quality oral health care. Established in 1870, the WDA is headquartered in West Allis and has a legislative office in Madison. The WDA is affiliated with the American Dental Association - the largest and oldest national dental association in the world. For more information, call 414-276-4520, visit WDA.org and find us on Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn.